Yesterday, I received the following email from markaagency.biz requesting advertising banner on Inficone.
Sender Name - Jules Barbier
Sender Email - jbarbier@markaagency.biz
Sender Subject - We would like to buy banner space on your site www.inficone.com.
Message -
Hi,
We are looking for new advertisement platforms and we are interested in your site www.inficone.com.
Is it possible to place banner on your site on a fee basis?
Best regards,
Jules Barbier
I googled on the net to figure out that this is a scam and you should not follow up with them
They apparently tell you that they advertise for Lacoste. Once a pricing is decided, they request you to install a wordpress plugin for advertising. The installation of this plugin could compromise your wordpress based site. The plugin zip is named adv.zip and you *SHOULD NOT INSTALL THIS PLUGIN*. The following links elaborates on the details –
http://pennyonthefloor.com/2011/11/beware-of-random-spam-advertising-offers/
http://www.atpeaz.com/index.php/2011/wordpress-blogs-targeted-scam-beware-of-the-adv-zip-plugin/
(Note in the second link the advertising agency name is bevestoagency)
Related posts:


My blog was also targeted by these scammers. They contacted me under the pseudonym Martin Lefevre from Rita Agency. This banner ad scam is tricky because it seems legit at first, but needing to install a plugin immediately raises red flags.